Runkle Canyon Home Page
About Runkle Canyon
Runkle Canyon History
FAQs about Runkle Canyon
Contact Runkle Canyon
Runkle Canyon News

In 1904, the Runkle family moved to Simi Valley where they raised their six children on a cattle ranch at the South side of the valley.

Like most ranchers, the Runkles grew grain and operated a blacksmith shop. They also operated a mule train, transporting items between the San Fernando and Simi valleys. In later years, they planted and harvested walnuts.

Still standing to this day is an earthen dam built for soil and water conservation. Such dams were basic to Simi Valley agriculture in the 1930s and 40s until modern flood control was built to drain all our canyons to the Simi Arroyo without damage to property below.

Later, a commercial sand and gravel business was operated within Runkle Canyon until it was closed in the mid-1980s. The property was also a favorite backdrop for many Hollywood film and television productions.

The Runkle family still follows their "cowboy background" living nearby and actively involved in the Simi Valley Historical Society.


Dewey Runkle

Dewey Runkle serves on the Society Board where he lectures on the rich heritage of Runkle Canyon and Simi Valley.

 

ABOUT | HISTORY | FAQs | CONTACT | NEWS

Copyright © , Runkle Canyon LLC. All rights reserved.
Webmaster